





ANNOUNCES

THE ENRICO GREPPI AWARD 2014

The Italian Society for the Study of Headaches (SISC) announces the competition of the Enrico Greppi Award 2014. The award will be granted to the best unpublished original paper dealing with clinical, epidemiological, genetic, pathophysiological or therapeutic aspects of headache. The prize amounts to € 10,000 and is open to researchers of all nationalities. The papers must be submitted in accordance with the editorial instructions of *The Journal of Headache and Pain*. The winning article will be published *ex officio* in *The Journal of Headache and Pain* within three months of the Award presentation. The remaining papers are considered as submitted to *The Journal of Headache and Pain* and may be published after undergoing the peer-reviewing process. The 2014 Award is endorsed by the European Headache Federation (EHF) and by the European Pain Federation EFIC[®]. The winner will be invited to present the paper at the 4th European Headache Migraine Trust International Congress (EHMTIC), to be held in Copenhagen on 18-21 September 2014.

Manuscripts should be sent by e-mail to the President of SISC at sisc@sisc.it not later than 31 May 2014.

Rules for the Enrico Greppi Award

- **1.** The Italian Society for the Study of Headaches sponsors an Award in memory of Enrico Greppi, pioneer and expert in the study of headache.
- The Award is assigned to an unpublished paper dealing with clinical, epidemiological, genetic, pathophysio-logical or therapeutic aspects of headache. Competing papers must 8. be written in accordance with the editorial instructions of *The Journal of Headache and Pain*, which can be found at http://www.thejournalofheadacheandpain.com. Papers submitted for the Enrico Greppi Award should be sent exclusively by e-mail to sisc@sisc.it.
- **3.** There is no limit of age for participants of the Enrico Greppi Award.
- **4.** All researchers in the headache field may compete for the Award. Members of both SISC, EHF and EFIC® Boards of Directors may compete as well, if they are not serving on the Selection Committee and did not participate in the nomination of the Selection Committee.
- **5.** The Award winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the 4th EHMTIC.
- **6.** The Award is of \in 10,000, which will be received during the 4th EHMTIC, along with a certificate signed by all members of the Selection Committee.
- 7. The competition will be announced in the EHF official journal, *The Journal of Headache and Pain*, as well as in other scientific area journals. Within three months of the announcement of the Award, *The Journal of Headache*

- and Pain will publish ex officio the winning manuscript, including the list of members of the Selection Committee. The remaining papers are considered submitted to *The Journal of Headache and Pain* and may be published after undergoing the peer-reviewing process.
- The Selection Committee will be composed of the SISC President as chairman, the EHF President, the EFIC® President, the Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Headache and Pain, and two members chosen from international experts in the headache field. The Committee is nominated by the SISC Board of Directors. Should the SISC President not be able to chair, the oldest member of the Committee will assume his role. The papers will be judged by each Committee member individually on a scale from 0 to 10. Each Committee member is responsible for sending his scores to the President of the Committee. The scores of at least four Committee members are necessary to determine the winner. The winning paper must receive an average score of not less than 6. In the case of a tie, the President's vote will have a double value. Should a tie persist, there will be a random drawing in the presence of a notary. No Award will be assigned if less than four judges send their scores or if no paper receives a score of at least 6. In this case the Award amount will be deposited in the prize funds.
- 9. The competing manuscripts must be e-mailed to the SISC President at sisc@sisc.it not later than 31 May 2014.